Let’s talk Carson City

Aceisback

Hooked
Carson City is on our short list of places to retire to and I’m looking for some feedback from those that live there, or near there.
My main concern is health care, being a disabled Veteran I would like to have some good VA care available, not like Phoenix whatsoever. I’m fully retired and extremely adaptable so I can always find something to occupy my time.
My wife is a retired Special Ed teacher but has gone back to work because there was a position available at the school our granddaughter goes to.

Curious if anyone does real estate or has family members that do. We don’t need a ranch but would like a small property that possibly has two homes on it. I’ll spare all the gory details but I currently pay two mortgages, and an additional car payment on top of my own two, to ensure that my granddaughter can have a decent childhood.
We definitely prefer some trees in the yard, and don’t particularly want to be in a neighborhood if that type of information helps.

So how harsh are the winters, and summers? Not wanting mid 120’s like we had in 29 Palms and not wanting brutally cold long drawn out winters.

I’ve got a ton more questions but I think this is a good start. Just needing to get out of California due to environment and economy. And need somewhere that’s a little financially friendly on a measly Marine Corps retirement.
Thanks for your input👍

They have erfquakes in Nevada. Been trying to talk my wife into moving out west for when we retire. VA is hotter than hell with lots of humidity so I’d love to get out of here but found out the other day Nevada is number two in the US for erfquakes so she ain’t doing that. Far as I know VA care sucks wherever you go. VA killed my sister thirty years ago so id advise anyone relying on VA medical for care to keep their life insurance current or see if you can get on your wife’s insurance.